Pompeii, Herculaneum & Classical Campania

8 days

From £2,545

Activity Level:

Summary

Nowhere in the world could give a deeper insight into Roman life than the dramatic seaside towns of Pompeii and Herculaneum. Before the eruption of Vesuvius these were thriving, lively seaside towns - Pompeii, a trading town equipped with many bars, shops and brothels, while Herculaneum was an affluent elegant town.

All this came to an abrupt halt, however, one Autumnal day in AD 79 - when Vesuvius - which had done little more than rumble for years - erupted with cataclysmic force. Two thousand years later, the sites of the Bay of Naples confront the modern visitor with a vivid, haunting immediacy like nothing else in the ancient world. In some cases we even know the names, professions and personal histories of the people who owned the villas and shops we visit.

Your guide lecturer will bring to life the ordinary people of Pompeii, Herculaneum and beyond. This is an exciting time for visitors to these Vesuvian towns, as new discoveries are constantly being made, and new houses constantly opened up. Lose yourself in the past, walking the ancient streets in the footsteps of gladiators, slaves, senators and citizens.

Tour highlights:

  • Private access to the Theatre of Herculaneum, off-site and haunting
  • Private access to the store rooms at Paestum, where Lucanian painted tombs closed to members of the public can be observed
  • Enjoy visits to 'off the beaten track' villas at Stabiae
  • Private access to the Cave of Sejanus (Grotta of Seiano) and the adjoining villa of Pausilypon with its dramatic coastal views
  • Explore the newly excavated House of Leda in Regio V

Keeping you safe on your next tour

  • FREE 'Travel Safe' kits for every traveller
  • COVID-19 insurance
  • Enhanced Health and Safety audits
  • Distanced seating on coaches
  • 'Get me home' service and private airport transfers
  • COVID protocols at our hotels, and aboard our cruise ships
  • Packed lunches and flexible dining options
  • Flexible balance payment date and COVID-friendly refund conditions
  • COVID-testing and medical training for tour staff
  • Constant monitoring and post-tour tracing
Meet your Experts

Tony O’Connor

Guide Lecturer

Tony O'Connor is a specialist in the Roman Empire, who has excavated widely across Britain, Europe and North Africa. He is particularly passionate about Roman North Africa, having excavated in Libya for many years.

View full bio

Pompeii ruins
Tour dates & prices

Included in your cost:

  • Expert Guide Lecturer
  • Professional Tour Manager
  • Local travel aboard a private air-conditioned coach
  • Accommodation
  • Meals as per the itinerary, wine and tea or coffee with dinner
  • Entries to all sites as per the itinerary
  • All taxes & gratuities
  • Field notes
Tour Departure Tour ID Departure date Return Date Guided by Price Deposit Single supplement Availability
17 May 2021 APOM210517 17 May 2021 (Monday) 24 May 2021 (Monday) Tony O’Connor £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
6 September 2021 APOM210906 6 September 2021 (Monday) 13 September 2021 (Monday) Dr David Rudling £2,525
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
20 September 2021 APOM210920 20 September 2021 (Monday) 27 September 2021 (Monday) John Shepherd £2,575
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
4 October 2021 APOM211004 4 October 2021 (Monday) 11 October 2021 (Monday) Mark Corney £2,495
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
11 October 2021 APOM211011 11 October 2021 (Monday) 18 October 2021 (Monday) Tony Wilmott £2,495
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
25 October 2021 APOM211025 25 October 2021 (Monday) 1 November 2021 (Monday) Dr Eireann Marshall £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £135 Book Now
14 March 2022 APOM220314 14 March 2022 (Monday) 21 March 2022 (Monday) Tony Wilmott £2,275
(inc. flights)
£500 £155 Book Now
18 April 2022 APOM220418 18 April 2022 (Monday) 25 April 2022 (Monday) Tony O’Connor £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
25 April 2022 APOM220425 25 April 2022 (Monday) 2 May 2022 (Monday) Tony Wilmott £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
2 May 2022 APOM220502 2 May 2022 (Monday) 9 May 2022 (Monday) Dr Eireann Marshall £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
23 May 2022 APOM220523 23 May 2022 (Monday) 30 May 2022 (Monday) Doru Bogdan £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
5 September 2022 APOM220905 5 September 2022 (Monday) 12 September 2022 (Monday) Dr Jamie Sewell £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
12 September 2022 APOM220912 12 September 2022 (Monday) 19 September 2022 (Monday) Dr Gillian Shepherd £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
19 September 2022 APOM220919 19 September 2022 (Monday) 26 September 2022 (Monday) Diana Blumberg £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
26 September 2022 APOM220926 26 September 2022 (Monday) 3 October 2022 (Monday) Dr Neil Faulkner £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
3 October 2022 APOM221003 3 October 2022 (Monday) 10 October 2022 (Monday) John Shepherd £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
10 October 2022 APOM221010 10 October 2022 (Monday) 17 October 2022 (Monday) Mark Corney £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
24 October 2022 APOM221024 24 October 2022 (Monday) 31 October 2022 (Monday) Dr Simon Elliott £2,475
(inc. flights)
£500 £165 Book Now
Tour Enquiries

I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the Andante Travels Privacy Policy

Newsletter